Injured in a Car Accident with an Uninsured Driver

26 September 2022
Emily Bush
Injured in a Car Accident with an Uninsured Driver

Ohio is an at-fault state, which means the driver who is found to be at-fault for a car accident is responsible for paying all damages suffered by other people as a result of the accident. But what if the person who is at-fault stopped paying for their car insurance and their coverage has lapsed?

If a driver does not have liability insurance, they are considered uninsured. According to data collected by the Insurance Research Council, approximately 13% of Ohio drivers are driving their vehicles on our roadways without automobile liability insurance, even though it is required by law.

Drivers in Ohio are legally required to obtain and pay for the following amounts of insurance:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person injured in a single accident
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage for all persons injured in a single accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability for a single accident

What if the damages you suffer as a result of the car accident you were involved in are GREATER THAN the bodily injury coverage the at-fault driver carried at the time of the accident? Then that driver would be considered underinsured.

Before you or a loved one are injured by either an uninsured or underinsured driver, there is something you can do to protect yourself. You can add Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage to your automobile insurance policy. Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage is optional in Ohio, but it can be an important precaution used to protect you and your family if you are injured in an accident with someone who does not have liability insurance coverage or who does not have enough to cover your damages.

A common question about Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage is – will my insurance rate be raised if I have to use this portion of my coverage? The answer is no. Your insurance company may attempt to recover money from the at-fault driver, but they cannot do so by increasing your monthly premium.

The personal injury attorneys at Green, Haines, Sgambati have a great deal of experience filing uninsured and underinsured motorist claims and are more than happy to help you navigate the process. Even though the claim is submitted to YOUR insurance company, they still want to do everything they can to settle your claim at the lowest amount possible.

Our attorneys know how to assemble all of the relevant documentation and present your claim in order to fight for the maximum compensation possible to help return you to your life prior to being injured due to no fault of your own. Call and speak to one of our attorneys today!

Categories

Recent Posts

OHIO MINIMUM WAGE INCREASES TO $10.10 PER HOUR JANUARY 1, 2023

Beginning January 1, 2023, the Ohio minimum wage will increase to $10.10 per hour.

Read More

Injured in a Car Accident with an Uninsured Driver

What if the person who is at-fault stopped paying for their car insurance and their coverage has lapsed?

Read More
View All Entries